Connect with us


The nominees for the ATP Awards 2020

atp awards

At the end of every year, the ATP presents the so-called ATP Awards which honour the year’s best players in various categories.

The nominees for the “Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award” – an award honouring fair play, professionalism and integrity on and off the court are the Australian John Millman, the Austrian Dominic Thiem, Rafael Nadal from Spain and Diego Schwartzman from Argentina. The tennis professionals themselves determine this award.

Diego Schwartzman from Argentina can hope for an award in two categories this year. Diego is nominated for the fairest sportsman as well as for the comeback player of the year.

The full list of the categories and nominees can be seen here:

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: Dominic Thiem (Austria), Rafael Nadal (Spain), Diego Schwartzman (Argentina), John Millman (Australia)

Comeback-player of the year: Kevin Anderson (South Africa), Andrey Kuznetsov (Russia), Milos Raonic (Canadian), Vasek Pospisil (Czech Republic)

Most improved player: Ugo Humbert (France), Andrey Rublev (Russia), Diego Schwartzman (Argentina), Janik Sinner (Italian)

Newcomer of the Year: Carlos Alcaraz (Spain), Sebastian Korda (USA), Lorenzo Musetti (Italy), Jurij Rodionov (Austria), Emil Ruusuvuori (Finnland), Thiago Seyboth Wild (Brazil)

Trainer of the year: Nicolas Massu (Dominic Thiem), Gilles Cervara (Daniil Medvedev), Juan Ignacio Chela (Diego Schwartzman), Fernando Vicente (Andrey Rublev), Ricardo Piatti (Jannik Sinner)

Let’s wait and see who will win which award. The ATP will announce the winners later this month.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Tennis