Connect with us

Champion's league

Champions League: The way forward updated!

UEFA announces plans for the continuation of the premier league. On Wednesday, UEFA announced how the Champions League, which had been suspended due to the Corona pandemic, would continue. 

The current season will see a final tournament of the premier league in the form of a lightning-fast knockout (no second leg) tournament in Lisbon, with the final match also taking place in the Portuguese capital on 23 August.

The Champions League final tournament will start on 12 August, and the final match in the Portuguese capital will be played on 23 August. The teams which are through to the quarter-finals are Atalanta, Atlético Madrid, RB Leipzig and Paris Saint-Germain. None of those four football teams has ever won the Champions League competition. Additionally, Atalanta and Leipzig are both in the last eight for the first time, and it is Atalanta’s first season in the UEFA Champions League, and only Leipzig’s second.

Among the teams that haven’t qualified for the quarter-finals is Bayern Munich, who will have to play their second leg of the round of sixteen against Chelsea FC (first leg 3-0) on 7 or 8 August. Other teams that need to play a second left in the series of sixteen are Barcelona, Juventus and Real Madrid, which are all former European champions. 

Initially, the final was awarded to Istanbul. Now the Turkish metropolis is due to host the final next year, and all the finals already awarded will be postponed as well. This also affects the city of Munich. The last European Cup final to date in the Bavarian metropolis was 2012 final which the Bavarians lost dramatically to Chelsea.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Champion's league