Connect with us


Announced the New ATP President

Novak Djokovic resigned from his role as the president of the ATP Players‘ Council back in August. The reason for the resignation was Novak’s dissatisfaction with the ATP, how they handle the crisis caused by the Corona pandemic and his sentiment that the ATP does not consider the interests of the players sufficiently. 

Together with 50 renegades, Djokovic founded the Professional Tennis Players Association (PTPA), the new players union, which will be led by himself as president. 

As announced yesterday by the ATP, Kevin Anderson from South Africa will take on the role as the president of the ATP. Anderson, the former Wimbledon and US Open finalist was previously vice president of the players’ council. Grand Slam winners Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer will remain at the ATP Players’ Council. Instead of founding a new player council, they would have prefered the creation of a new, umbrella council representing the interests of female and male players together.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Tennis